Transgender


When a person does not identify with the gender assigned to him or her at birth and wishes to live as a member of the opposite sex, this is referred to as transsexuality.

Primarily, however, this is not in fact a problem of sexuality, but of being sure that one belongs to what is biologically the other gender and achieving recognition of that fact both socially and legally.

There are both women whose psychological gender is male and men whose psychological gender is female. Accordingly, persons in the former case are referred to as woman-to-man (WtM) transgenders or trans men. If the original physical gender is male but the psychological gender female, we refer to man-to-woman (MtW) transgenders or trans women.

Meanwhile, the way to outward gender reassignment has been paved, though it does feature many bureaucratic obstacles. Come and talk to us about it. We'll sit down with you and help you to find your own personal way forward, and we'll be on hand to help.

As the medical services in the place where they live are often rather limited, many trans people are prepared to take long journeys upon themselves to realign their phenotype, sometimes even travelling abroad, although there may not be sufficient provision for proper aftercare. If you have already had interventions, we offer follow-up care on site and advise you in case of complications.

In Germany, diagnosis of the transgender characteristic is geared to the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems – ICD for short – , issued by the World Health Organisation (WHO).

Many transsexuals and trans people perceive this classification of their personal sense of gender as a disease or disorder as hurtful. Having said that, categorisation in ICD-10 and acknowledgement as a disease pursuant to the 5th Book of the German Social Security Code (SGB V) does have the advantage for the person concerned that the health insurance schemes will take care of the costs of diagnostics and treatment once the diagnosis has been confirmed.

If you're prepared to consider applying for the costs of a gender alignment operation to be covered by your statutory health insurance scheme, there are normally some requirements that need to be fulfilled first. These involve a psychological evaluation and report with surgical indication, a course of hormonal therapy with evidence of 'living in the other gender' for a certain period of time, and an official change of your name and personal status.

The start of the gender alignment process usually sees the removal of the female breast with alignment to a male appearance or the build-up of a female breast. Often, the breast or chest, which does not fit in with the gender the person feels, constitutes the most major visible stigma for these patients. As for the surgical procedures that may be suitable in your case, that depends on your initial findings.

We offer you either adaptation to a male chest for WtM transgender people, or the build-up of a female breast for MtW transgender people. We can perform all the operations that may be necessary to achieve the optimum result, so that you can finally get closer to that long-awaited goal of uniting your body with what you feel.

We work together with a network of microsurgeons, gynaecologists, urologists and endocrinologists, who will also be there to help you in word and deed.

In a detailed consultation, we can sit down together and discuss what gender alignment measures are most likely to achieve the optimum result for you.

Ask for advice from us.

We’ll be glad to provide you with detailed information about this treatment. Simply get in touch with us now and obtain advice at an individual and absolutely personal level.
Make an appointment

Other microsurgical treatment methods

We also offer the following treatment methods from the fields of plastic and aesthetic surgery in our practice. Learn more.

HandSkin mutationsLipedema – lymphatic oedemaScarsChronic woundsTransgenderExcessive perspirationBurns sequelae

Transgender


Wenn Menschen sich nicht mit ihrem bei der Geburt zugeordneten Geschlecht identifizieren und als das entgegengesetzte Geschlecht leben möchten, spricht man von Transsexualität.

Diese stellt jedoch primär kein Problem der Sexualität dar, sondern die Gewissheit, sich dem biologisch anderen Geschlecht zugehörig zu fühlen und hierin auch sozial und juristisch anerkannt zu sein.

Es gibt sowohl Frauen, deren psychologisches Geschlecht männlich ist, als auch Männer, deren psychologisches Geschlecht weiblich ist. Demnach spricht man im ersten Fall von Frau-zu-Mann-Transgendern (FzM) bzw. Transmännern. Ist das körperliche Ursprungsgeschlecht männlich, das psychologische Geschlecht dagegen weiblich, spricht man von Mann-zu-Frau-Transgendern (MzF) bzw. Transfrauen.

Der Weg der äußerlichen Geschlechtsanpassung ist mittlerweile geebnet, wenn auch von bürokratischen Hürden geprägt. Sprechen Sie uns an, wir werden mit Ihnen einen individuellen Weg finden und Ihnen beratend zur Seite stehen.

Da die medizinischen Leistungen im Heimatort oft beschränkt sind, nehmen viele transidente Menschen lange Wege in Kauf, teilweise sogar ins Ausland, um ihren Phänotyp anzupassen, wobei die Nachsorge eventuell nicht ausreichend gesichert sein könnte. Sollten bei Ihnen bereits Eingriffe erfolgt sein, bieten wir eine Nachbetreuung vor Ort und beraten Sie bei eventuellen Komplikationen.

Die Diagnose der Transgender-Eigenschaft richtet sich in Deutschland nach der von der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) herausgegebenen Internationalen statistischen Klassifikation der Krankheiten und verwandter Gesundheitsprobleme, kurz ICD.

Für viele Transsexuelle bzw. Transidente ist die Einstufung ihres Geschlechtsempfindens als Krankheit oder Störung verletzend. Die Kategorisierung im ICD-10 und die Anerkennung als Krankheit nach SGB V hat aber für den Betroffenen den Vorteil, dass die Krankenkassen, wenn die Diagnose gesichert ist, die Kosten für Diagnostik und Behandlung übernehmen.

Wenn für Sie in Frage kommt, eine Kostenübernahme durch Ihre gesetzliche Krankenversicherung für eine geschlechtsangleichende Operation zu beantragen, sind in der Regel Voraussetzungen zu erfüllen. Hierbei handelt es sich um ein psychologisches Gutachten mit operativer Indikationsstellung, eine hormonelle Therapie mit nachweislichem "Leben im anderen Geschlecht" und die amtliche Namens- und Personenstandsänderung.

Im Vordergrund der Geschlechtsangleichung steht in der Regel die Entfernung der weiblichen Brust mit der Angleichung an ein männliches Erscheinungsbild oder der Aufbau einer weiblichen Brust. Die nicht zum empfundenen Geschlecht passende Brust stellt für die Patienten häufig das größte sichtbare Stigma dar. Welche operativen Verfahren sich in Ihrem Fall eignen, hängt von Ihrem Ausgangsbefund ab.

Wir bieten Ihnen sowohl die Anpassung einer männlichen Brust bei Frau-zu-Mann Transgendern, sowie die Erschaffung einer weiblichen Brust bei Mann-zu-Frau Transgendern an. Hierzu bieten wir alle nötigen Operationen an, um ein optimales Ergebnis für Sie zu erlangen, damit Sie Ihrem lang ersehnten Ziel einer Vereinigung von Körper und Empfinden ein Stück näher kommen.

Wir arbeiten mit einem Netzwerk an Mikrochirurgen, Gynäkologen, Urologen und Endokrinologen zusammen, die Ihnen ebenfalls mit Rat und Tat zur Seite stehen.

In einem ausführlichen Beratungsgespräch können wir gemeinsam besprechen, welche geschlechtsangleichenden Maßnahmen für Sie das optimale Ergebnis bringen.

Lassen Sie sich beraten!

Gerne informieren wir Sie ausführlich zu dieser Behandlung. Nehmen Sie jetzt Kontakt auf und lassen sich individuell und ganz persönlich beraten.
Termin vereinbaren

Weitere feinchirurgische Behandlungen

Folgende operative Behandlungen aus dem Bereich der Plastischen und Ästhetischen Chirurgie bieten wir in unserer Praxis ebenfalls an. Erfahren Sie mehr!

HandHautveränderungenLipödem-LymphödemNarbenChronische WundenTransgenderÜbermäßiges SchwitzenVerbrennungsfolgen